Book Cover Progress I

I was able to paint for about an hour and a half yesterday, which was thrilling! I painted the iron oxide ribbon in the middle of the road first, then burnt umber ribbons on either side of that, then burnt sienna on the outside of the road last. I did lose some of the delicious detail of the dress design with the painting, first in neutral gray, then with mars black streaking. Then I painted her neck, and mixed her particular hair color, which of course has a good bit of red in it, hee, like me!

I decided that the text for the book cover should be in the style of old French liqueur posters, you know what I’m saying? Yes! In Naples Yellow lined with black and white. Not sure where that will go and how I’ll make that work, but that is the plan.

Had a really rough night last night, in part due to my sleep meds getting mixed up with the new doctor, long story … Advil PM just does not cut it … so I just laid there, eyes wide open for many the hour … the rest I cannot tell you … but it was a LONNNNG night … Chipper stayed by my side throughout and I didn’t disturb Jason because he had to work today.

The good news is that I was able to get my hair cut pixie length again this morning and I feel like a new person! I also was able to pick up my Lunesta this morning and I look forward to a good night’s sleep tonight, fingers crossed! Was going to go to Whole Foods and treat myself to some packs of seeds, lettuces? flowers? was going to see what lit my fancy, but it started to rain and I decided to come home … and put two biscuits in the oven … which were quite nice, thank you!

I opened the screen door and moved the blue hydrangea that Chipper gave me for Mother’s Day into the rain, because it’s a bit pot-bound and we can’t water it enough. Hopefully that will help.

Looking forward to resting and more painting today. Really liking the tone of this new painting, feels strong.

About amyjacksoncc

I am a professional artist, writer and musician creating from my home studio. To view my artwork, visit http://www.amyjackson.cc
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment